Ontonagon Area Scholarship Foundation

The Foundation

Scholarship Application and Rules

Scholarship Recipients

Donations to Foundation Information


Upcoming Events

Ontonagon Area School District

The Foundation

The Ontonagon Area Scholarship Foundation is a private, non-profit organization.  The Foundation's long-range goal is to provide significant financial assistance for all graduates of Ontonagon Area High School intending to further their education.

 Graduates may apply for the Foundation scholarship during their senior year at Ontonagon Area High School; announcements of awards are made at commencement ceremonies.  Upon successful completion of their first year of college, the recipient receives the scholarship award.  This year, 35 scholarships of $500.00 each will be awarded to the Class of 2006.

 Since the first award was made to a member of the Class of 1984, the Foundation has made significant strides towards its goal.  With this year's class, the total number of Foundation scholarships will reach 300.  Our graduates have used the money to help with meeting the ever-increasing costs of college or technical/business education.

 Through the generosity of several individuals and their families as well as local businesses, several "named Trusts" have been established within the Foundation.  They include the Glenn A Thomas Scholarships, the Robert F. Lindfors Memorial Scholarship, the Mary-Stella Gorney Scholarships, the Eliza Kidd Scholarship, the Evelyn Salter Scholarships, the Gust and Margaret Erickson Scholarship, the Regina Davey Scholarship, the Stone Container Scholarship, the North Country Bank Scholarship, the Ernest and Helen Toivonen Scholarship, the Ontonagon-White Pine Rotary Club Scholarship, the Florence Strong Scholarship, Ontonagon Gladiator Booster Club Scholarship, Vieno Moilanen Savela Memorial Scholarship, and the Horizon Home Care Scholarship.

 A Board of Directors governs the Ontonagon Area Scholarship Foundation.  Membership on the Board is determined annually by the Directors.  All work performed by the Foundation is done by volunteers.  The volunteers organize annual fund raising, participate in the selection of scholarship recipients, keep the books, maintain the records, and sign the scholarship checks.

 Current Board of Directors of the Foundation are Officers: Janet Wolfe, President; James Morin, Vice-President; Marilyn Anderson, Secretary; Jerry Domitrovich & Tom Strong, Co-Treasurer; Trustees: Doris Cane, Kurt Giesau, James Klein, James Michie, Kristiina Miilu, Margret Muskatt, Frank Podkomorka, Kathleen Preiss, Meredith Strong, Janis Tucker, Clarence Wilbur, and the Superintendent of Schools and Board of Education President.

 Donations to the Foundation have come from many alumni, friends, families, and businesses.  Individuals making an annual financial contribution of $10-99 are considered "MEMBERS" of the Foundation; $100-499 are considered "PATRONS"; $500-999 are considered "SPONSORS"; $1,000 and over are considered "DONORS".  Named Trusts are established for donations totaling $10,000 and over.  Gifts in any amount will be accepted "In Memorial" of a loved one.  Officers of the Foundation may be contacted to provide additional information to anyone interested in establishing a scholarship trust within the Foundation.  Donations can be mailed to the Ontonagon Area Scholarship Foundation, PO Box 92, Ontonagon, MI  49953.


Last modified: 05/13/05